Simbine, Rooskrantz named Team SA’s flag bearers for Paris Olympics

Simbine, Rooskrantz named Team SA’s flag bearers for Paris Olympics

  • Akani Simbine and Caitlin Rooskrantz have been named as South Africa’s flag bearers for the Paris Olympics.
  • Mpumelelo Mhlongo and Kat Swanepoel will be SA’s flag bearers for the Paralympics set in August.
  • Sascoc president Barry Hendricks expressed optimism and support for Team South Africa.
  • For more more on Olympic sports, visit our dedicated page.

SA sprinter Akani Simbine and gymnast Caitlin Rooskrantz will carry the South African flag at the opening ceremony of the Paris Olympic Games.

On Tuesday, the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) confirmed the country’s co-flag bearers for this year’s Olympics and Paralympics during the send-off gala dinner held at Emperor’s Palace in Kempton Park.

Simbine, competing in his third Olympic Games, is one of Team South Africa’s medal prospects in Paris as he looks to compete in the 100m and 4x100m relay.

The 30-year-old is looking for his first Olympic podium after reaching the final of the men’s 100m at both the Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020 Games, where he finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Rooskrantz, marking her second Olympic appearance, has made history as the first gymnast to be named a flag bearer – an honour she considers the pinnacle of her career. 

“I feel super excited and super proud – it’s definitely something I would not have dreamed about,” said Rooskrantz, who will compete in all apparatus in the artistic gymnastics competition.

READ | Olympic-bound Gelant wins, Xaba breaks SA record at 10km race in Durban

“But I am super excited nonetheless, and I’m excited to represent South Africa as a whole and lead us into this Olympic Games.”

Meanwhile, track star Mpumelelo Mhlongo and swimmer Kat Swanepoel will be SA’s flag bearers for the Paris Paralympics, when the Games kick off on 28 August.

Sascoc president Barry Hendricks wished the Team SA athletes well as they look to better their performances from Tokyo.

“The last Olympics and Paralympics were held in 2021, postponed a year due to the Covid-19 pandemic. They were held in an understandably and necessarily confined environment, but you can feel the energy this time around,” said Hendricks.

“There is such a buzz around the whole Games, and Team South Africa is ready and committed to playing its full part in its success.

“I want to thank the Sascoc board, our sponsors and partners, and the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture for all their assistance and input so far. To the athletes, remember that you are ambassadors for our country.

“Importantly, for many, it will be the highlight of your careers, so remember to soak it all in, make new friends, and experience different cultures. These are life experiences. Well done to all those who have been selected.”

Team South Africa is aiming for an improved performance in Paris, aspiring to surpass their achievements of three medals at the Tokyo Olympics and seven medals at the Tokyo Paralympics.

Team SA Paris Olympic team so far:

Aquatics: Pieter Coetze, Chad le Clos, Matthew Sates, Aimee Canny, Tatjana Smith, Kaylene Corbett, Erin Gallagher, Rebecca Meder, Julia Vincent (diving)

Archery: Wian Roux (recurve)


Men: Luxolo Adams (200m), Elroy Galant (marathon), Gardeo Isaacs (4x400m), Shaun Maswangani (200m, 4x100m), Stephen Mokoka (marathon), Zakithi Nene (400m, 4x400m), Bradley Nkoana (4x100m), Antonie Nortje (4x400m), Lythe Pillay (400m, 4x400m), Francois Prinsloo (discus), Benjamin Richardson (200m, 4x100m), Akani Simbine (100m, 4x100m), Tshepo Tshite (1500m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m, 4x400m), Jovan van Vuuren (long jump), Bayanda Walaza (4x100m), Adriaan Wildschutt (5000m, 10000m)

Women: Marione Fourie (100mH), Zeney Geldenhuys (400mH), Rogail Joseph (400mH), Cian Oldknow (marathon), Prudence Sekgodiso (800m), Gerda Steyn (marathon), Irvette van Zyl (marathon)

Badminton: Johanita Scholtz

Canoeing: Tiffany Koch, Esti Olivier, Hamish Lovemore, Andrew Birkett

Cycling: Ryan Gibbons (road), Jean Spies (track), Alan Hatherley (MTB), Vincent Leygonie (BMX), Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (road), Tiffany Keep (road), Candice Lill (MTB), Miyanda Maseti (BMX)

Equestrian: Alexander Peternell (eventing)

Fencing: Harry Saner (epee)

Golf: Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Erik van Rooyen, Ashleigh Buhai, Paula Reto

Gymnastics: Caitlin Rooskrantz (artistic)


Men: Daniel Bell, Dayaan Cassiem, Mustapha Cassiem, Calvin Davis, Matthew Guise-Brown, Andrew Hobson, Keenan Horne, Gowan Jones, Ryan Julius, Tevin Kok, Zenani Kraai, Samkelo Mvimbi, Nqobile Ntuli, Bradley Sherwood, Nicholas Spooner, Jacques van Tonder

Reserves: Hendrik Kriek, Nduduza (Peabo) Lembethe

Women: Taheera Augousti, Quanita Bobbs, Stephanie Botha, Dirkie Chamberlain, Erin Christie, Kayla de Waal, Paris-Gail Isaacs, Marie Antoinette Louw, Ongeziwe Mali, Ntsopa Mokoena, Edith Molikoe, Kristen Paton, Hannah Pearce, Celia Seerane, Anelle van Deventer, Onthatile Zulu

Reserves: Aphiwe Dimba, Kayla Swarts

Judo: Geronay Whitebooi

Rowing: John Smith (pair), Christopher Baxter (pair), Paige Badenhorst (single skull)

Rugby Sevens:

Men: Christie Grobbelaar, Ryan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, Zain Davids, Quewin Nortje, Tiaan Pretorius, Shaun Williams, Selvyn Davids, Tristan Leyds, Rosko Specman, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Shilton van Wyk

Reserves: Ronald Brown, Katlego Letebele

Women: Liske Lategan, Ayanda Malinga, Shona-Leah Weston, Kemisetso Baloyi, Zintle Mpupha, Sizophila Solontsi, Mathrin Simmers, Nadine Roos, Elizabeth Janse van Rensburg, Veroeshka Grain, Marlize de Bruin, Maria Tshiremba, Byrhabdre Dolf, Shiniqwa Lamprecht, Zandile Masuku, Eloise Web

Triathlon: Henri Schoeman, Jamie Riddle, Vicky van der Merwe

Sport climbing: Joshua Bruyns (speed climbing), Mel Janse van Rensburg (lead & boulder), Aniya Holder (speed climbing), Lauren Mukheibir (lead & boulder)

Skating: Brandon Valjalo (street), Boipelo Awuah (street), Andre Oberholzer (park)

Surfing: Jordy Smith, Matthew McGillivray, Sarah Ann Baum

Wrestling: Steyn de Lange

Team SA Paris Paralympic squad so far:

Archery: Shaun Anderson (W1)


Men: Mpumelelo Mhlongo (T44 100m and long jump), Kerwin Noemda (F46 shot put), Puseletso Mabote (T63 100m and long jump), Collen Mahlalela (T47 400m), Khumo Pitso (T46 high jump), Jaco Smit (T12 100m), Daniel du Plessis (T62 400m), Hermanus Blom (F12 shot put), Erasmus Badenhorst (guide, 1500m), Claus Kempen (guide, marathon)

Women: Simone Kruger (T38 discus), Sheryl James (T37 100m, 200m, 400m), Louzanne Coetzee (T11 1500m and marathon), Liezel Gouws (T37 200m and long jump), Yane van der Merwe (F44 discus)

Boccia: Karabo Cassius Morapedi (BC3), Matobako Vincent Ramochela (BC3 ramp operator), Elanza Jordaan (BC3), Sandre Jordaan (BC3 ramp operator)

Cycling: Pieter du Preez

Equestrian: Philippa Johnson-Dwyer, Christiaan Haazen (groom)


Men: Nathan Hendricks (S13 200m individual medley, 100m backstroke, SB13 100m breaststroke), Christian Sadie (S7 50m butterfly, 100m backstroke, 50m freestyle, SM7 200m individual medley)

Women: Alani Ferreira (S12 400m freestyle, SB12 100m breaststroke, SM12 200m Individual Medley, S12-S13 100m butterfly), Danika Vyncke (SB13 100m breaststroke), Kat Swanepoel (SM5 200m Individual Medley, S5 50m backstroke, 100m freestyle, 200m freestyle, SB4 100m breaststroke, S14 400m freestyle)

Wheelchair tennis: Alwande Sikhosana

Leave a Comment